Skip to main content

What Is Twitter's "Circle" Feature and Who Can Use It?

With a satirical edge and undertones of technology, gadgets and accessories, I aim to make my writing both informative and entertaining.

adyeewillie

There is a possibility that Twitter Circle is beginning to roll out to more people.

Twitter Circle is a feature that allows you to send Tweets to a chosen group of individuals and express your ideas with a smaller audience. Only the people you add to your Twitter Circle can react to and interact with the Tweets you share in the Circle.

According to Android Police, Twitter started testing Circle in May, 2022 with a select set of users, and it appears that the social media platform is now beginning to roll out to a wider audience. The functionality of the feature is quite similar to that of Instagram's Close Friends, in that it enables users to send tweets only to a particular set of people rather than to the entirety of Twitter.

Scroll to Continue

At this time, it is not possible to determine how many individuals currently have access to Circle. It appears that a growing number of users are finally seeing the function pop up when they begin drafting a tweet; however, some users still say that they do not yet have access to the tool. According to Twitter representative Joseph Nunez, testing is still being done. "We are still presently testing Twitter Circle with a group of individuals across iOS, Android, and Web globally," added Nunez. "We are also testing Twitter Circle with a group of people in the United States." Because they are still collecting user feedback, the new feature has not yet been made available to a large portion of the population.

You can upgrade your Twitter app or log in to Twitter through a web browser to determine if you have access to the Twitter Circle feature. When you first begin to compose a tweet, a dropdown menu that reads "Everyone" will appear at the very top of the screen. If you want to restrict your tweet to a specific audience, you can select Twitter Circle from this menu. Alternatively, you can select Edit to add or delete people from your Circle. If you add or remove users from your Twitter list, Twitter will not notify those users.

You are allowed to add up to 150 persons to your Circle, regardless of whether or not they follow you. Users who are a part of your Circle will see a note appended to tweets that are restricted to only those in your Circle (and vice versa), stating that "Only users in @[yourusernameTwitter ]'s Circle can see this tweet." To a certain extent, tweeting to your Circle is analogous to having a private account; however, rather than restricting access to your whole profile, it just makes select tweets private.

Even though the members of your Circle won't be able to retweet anything you post to your Circle, they will still be able to take screenshots of and save your tweets. Even if you are tweeting to a more limited audience, it is imperative that you bear in mind that Twitter's community guidelines are still in effect and that you should adhere to them.

It is also important to keep in mind that Twitter’s community guidelines still apply even if you are sending your tweets out to a smaller audience.

This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and is not meant to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a qualified professional.

Related Articles