Updated date:

Here's How Instagram Unsend Message Works

Kent is a content creator who enjoys sharing her knowledge about consumer tech. She enjoys playing Black Desert Mobile.

How Instagram Unsend Works

How Instagram Unsend Works

Direct messaging someone on social media like Facebook and Instagram is not always seamless. Typos are quite common. There are also instances where a sender mistakenly sends a message to the wrong person. In the age of social media, this is a common occurrence.

On Facebook, you can save yourself from embarrassment by unsending a message that you’ve mistakenly typed or wrongfully sent. There’s a 10-minute time limit for it though. If you fail to unsend a message during that period, the message will permanently stay in your conversation.

Speaking of which, you can also do the same if you are messaging someone via Instagram Direct. The good thing about direct messaging someone via Instagram is that you can unsend messages without the time limit. So if you want to remove a message that you’ve sent a day ago or even a week ago, you can still do so!

What Happens When You Unsend a Message on Instagram?

When you unsend a message on Instagram, it will no longer become visible to you and to everyone included in the conversation. It doesn’t matter if you are messaging just one person or a group, the unsend feature will work regardless. You do have to keep in mind that Instagram may still keep a copy of your deleted messages.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the receiver may have already seen your message. So even if you unsend a message, they may have kept a copy of it already via screenshot or screen record. If you are sending messages that contain sensitive topics or information, it is best to always think twice or better yet, thrice before you click “Send”.

Also, unlike Facebook, the photo sharing social network does not have a “remove message” option. This feature allows you to remove or delete messages but only for yourself. This means if someone sends you a message, you cannot hide or delete that particular message. You can, however, ask the sender to unsend that message. Otherwise, you’ll have to completely delete the entire conversation. If you decide to remove the entire conversation, it will no longer be visible to you but it will still be visible to the people included in the conversation.

How to Unsend a Message on Instagram?

Unsending a message on Instagram is pretty straightforward. Here are the steps that you need to do:

  1. Open the Instagram app on iOS (iPhone) or Android. Make sure you are already logged in to your account.
  2. Now, go ahead and tap on that airplane icon that’s sitting on the top-right corner of your feed. It will display a list of your conversations.
  3. Open a conversation and select a message that you wish to unsend.
  4. Long-press on that message and select “Unsend”.

The message will be gone instantly! There will also be no signs of a message being unsent such as an unsend transcript. Once you’ve unsend a message, you can no longer restore it. Note that you cannot unsend multiple messages at once. There is no bulk unsend feature.

instagram-unsend-message

There you have it! As mentioned above, unsent messages will no longer become visible to you and to all the people included in the conversation. Still, it is not a foolproof way to save you from sending embarrassing photos and texts. You also need to keep in mind that you are accountable for every message you send so abusing the feature does not mean that you are completely free from any liability. For your own good, be a responsible social media user and refrain from sending messages that are considered vulgar, libelous or defamatory.

This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and is not meant to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a qualified professional.

© 2021 Kent Peligrino

Related Articles