I tried to deactivate my Facebook account as you suggested in your article. Then I tried logging in with my password to be sure it was gone, but it took me to my Facebook account. How do I make the account actually get removed?

Answer

If you log back into Facebook after deactivating, it will automatically activate your account again. You have to wait a long time without any activity, as I mentioned in the article, for the account to be removed completely after requesting deactivation.

Updated on April 4, 2018

Original Article:

Facebook's Deception of Deactivated Accounts
By Glenn Stok
working